State of Oregon Analysis of Impediment for Furthering Fair Housing

As a recipient of federal funds, the state of Oregon is required by HUD to sign a certification to affirmatively further fair housing. An Analysis of Impediments (AI) is the basis for the state's fair housing planning activities, development of strategies to reduce impediments and progress reporting. In addition to its own obligations to affirmatively further fair housing, communities that receive state disbursements of federal funds are also responsible to further fair housing as described in the state's AI.

An AI examines public and private practices that create barriers, or impediments, to fair housing choice of members of protected classes under the federal and state Fair Housing Acts. Federally protected classes are race, color, national origin, religion, gender, familial status and disability. State of Oregon protected classes are marital status, source of income, sexual orientation including gender identity and domestic violence victims. Local communities may have additional protected classes.

Oregon Report

Business Oregon with Oregon Housing & Community Services and the Oregon Health Authority have released this draft of Analysis of Impediments to Fair Housing Choice (AI) PDF. This report is required as a recipient of federal grant funds from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development and is recommended to be updated at least every five years. The Analysis of Impediments identifies barriers to fair housing in Oregon, and potential strategies that can be undertaken to overcome these impediments.

If you would like to learn more about fair housing or if you feel you have been discriminated against when trying to rent or purchase housing in Oregon, please contact the Fair Housing Council of Oregon.

Entitlement Communities Perform Their Own AI

Please note that entitlement communities (e.g., places that directly receive federal funds, such as the city of Portland) are required to perform their own Analysis of Impediments to Fair Housing and to develop their own strategies to affirmatively further fair housing. For your convenience, Oregon's entitlement communities are listed below

City of Albany City of Grants Pass Clackamas County
City of Ashland City of Hillsboro Multnomah County
City of Beaverton City of Medford Washington County
City of Bend City of Portland
City of Corvallis City of Redmond
City of Eugene City of Salem
City of Gresham City of Springfield