Port Formation

Did you know all of Oregon's public ports are over sixty (60) years of age? Or that the decade between 1910-1920, was the most popular time in our history for port formation in Oregon?

  • 1890's: Portland
  • 1900's: Coos Bay, Nehalem, Siuslaw
  • 1910's: Alsea, Astoria, Bandon, Coquille, Garibaldi, Newport, Port Orford, Toledo, Umpqua
  • 1930's: Arlington, The Dalles, Hood River, Cascade Locks
  • 1940's: Columbia County, Umatilla
  • 1950's: Brookings Harbor, Gold Beach, Morrow, Tillamook Bay

Per ORS 285A.627, ports may be formed with approval of Business Oregon, as the state's lead coordinating, planning and research entity for ports. Under administrative rule (Chapter 123, Division 20), an application and supporting materials must be filed highlighting the need for port services, funding sources, and impact analysis on community, land use, transportatio, and the environment. In addition to Business Oregon approval, the residing county and the public must also vote in favor of the new port. Once approved, ports are considered incorporated under ORS Chapter 777 and may begin to carry out their economic development mission in accordance with the law.